What are the marijuana laws in Missouri?

On Behalf of | Jan 7, 2020 | Firm News

As a resident of Missouri, you may know that in 2018, the state passed legislation legalizing the use of marijuana for certain medical conditions. While this change to the state’s legal code may allow you to possess and use marijuana for medical treatment if you meet the eligibility requirements, the recreational use of the drug is still illegal in the state and under federal law. 

According to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, there are a few medical conditions that may qualify you to legally use medical marijuana: glaucoma, migraines, epilepsy, cancer and debilitating psychiatric disorders. There may be additional requirements you need to meet to verify a qualifying condition, including obtaining a certification from a medical professional. Once you have a medical marijuana card, you may purchase up to four ounces of unprocessed, dried marijuana within a 30-day period. 

The state began accepting applications for dispensing facilities in late 2019 with a goal of opening licensed dispensaries in early 2020. Until the state-licensed dispensaries open, the Missouri government provides no information about where you may purchase medical marijuana. However, you may apply for a patient cultivation card, which allows you to grow up to six flowering plants. Applying for this type of card requires a fee of $100. You may need to follow additional security regulations if you obtain a cultivation card. 

Missouri state law indicates that you may still incur penalties for driving under the influence of marijuana even if you have a medical marijuana card. The law also prohibits marijuana consumption on public property. 

This information on medical marijuana in Missouri is intended to educate and should not be taken as legal advice.