In Missouri, you can face substantial penalties if a court convicts you of committing domestic assault. The precise penalties depend on the level of assault the jury convicts you of.
FindLaw explains that Missouri defines domestic assault as the knowing attempt to cause a member of your family or household physical injury or actually causing such injury.
Domestic assault degrees
Missouri divides domestic assault into three degrees. If charged with first degree domestic assault, this means that you allegedly knowingly killed your family or household member or caused him or her serious physical injury. If charged with second degree domestic assault, this means that you allegedly knowingly strangled your family or household member or used a deadly weapon against him or her.
You can face third degree domestic assault charges if you allegedly did any of the following:
- Recklessly physically injured your family or household member
- Negligently injured him or her with a deadly weapon
- Put him or her in fear of immediate physical injury
- Recklessly put him or her at high risk of death or serious injury
- Knowingly touched him or her in an offensive manner
- Knowingly unreasonably isolated him or her from others
Domestic assault penalties
Domestic assault can range all the way from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class A felony, depending on the precise circumstances involved. If convicted of a Class A misdemeanor, you could face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
All other domestic assault convictions represent felonies, ranging from Class D, which carries a maximum 4-year prison sentence and/or a maximum $5,000 fine, to Class A, which carries a maximum life sentence, but more often results in a sentence of from 10-30 years.