If you are under the age of 21, or you are the parent of a teen driver, it is very important to understand how strict drunk driving laws are for those who have not reached the legal drinking age. In Missouri, there is a zero tolerance law in place for drivers under the age of 21, and many young drivers with small amounts of alcohol in their system face serious charges that shatter their lives.
Sometimes, young drivers do not even realize that it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with small amounts of alcohol in their system and that this behavior can result in drunk driving charges.
Underage drunk driving and BAC levels
According to the Missouri State Highway Patrol, drivers under the age of 21 who have a BAC level of .02 or greater face the suspension of their license for 30 days. Moreover, they must pay a reinstatement fee and finish a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program in order to have their driving privileges restored.
Other penalties for underage drunk driving
If a driver under the age of 21 faces other charges related to driving while intoxicated, the penalties are more serious, in some instances. For example, a young driver using alcohol while driving or found to have an excessive amount of alcohol in their system will face a 90-day license suspension. If under the age of 16, drivers have to wait until they reach 17 to obtain a license. Sometimes, repeat offenses can result in the loss of driving privileges for up to a year.