When you face a drunk driving charge in Missouri, this may result in a number of different penalties. Depending on the severity of the incident, the charges can range from driving under the influence to involuntary manslaughter if someone died as the result of a crash.
Mothers Against Drunk Driving notes that not all penalties for vehicular manslaughter are the same in each state. Facing a charge in Missouri includes several possible punishments for this crime, and understanding state laws may help you as you wait for an upcoming court date.
Possible jail time
If you stand accused of a Missouri DWI and someone died as the result of an accident, you could face up to 15 years in prison. This often depends on the circumstances of the accident and your degree of alleged intoxication. There are several felony laws connected to the circumstances of any death in the crash, which may also affect the nature of the charges you face.
Missouri allows for two different types of felony charges related to vehicular manslaughter. A Class B felony includes several circumstances, including:
- When two or more people die in the crash
- The death of a non-passenger, such as a pedestrian
- An elevated blood alcohol level of 0.18 or more
You may face a Class C felony upon the death of any person in the crash, which includes a possible jail term of seven years or fewer. Both felony charges include a possible $5,000 fine as well.
Missouri’s vehicular manslaughter penalties are not as harsh as some other states. Whether you face jail time may depend on the individual circumstances of the case and the discretion of a local judge.