What to do if you are facing cocaine charges in Missouri

On Behalf of | Jan 27, 2022 | drug charges

The possession, sale or trafficking of cocaine in the state of Missouri comes with very hefty penalties. Criminal convictions for cocaine-related charges have mandatory minimum sentences that could add up to years in prison. This is true for even minor offenses. Here are a few things to be aware of regarding Missouri’s cocaine laws.

What to expect with minor cocaine offenses

If you happen to be caught with any amount of cocaine in Missouri, it is likely you will be charged with a felony. If you are convicted, you could face a maximum of seven years in prison for these drug charges and serve a mandatory minimum of one year. There is a possibility of probation for a first-time offense if you are willing to complete an acceptable drug rehab program.

Punishments for more serious charges

Repeat offenders with cocaine charges face the most severe penalties. It is certainly possible if you are caught more than once with cocaine, you would not be eligible for probation or parole. This is true for possession, trafficking, and sales charges,

Sales and trafficking drug offenses are taken more seriously than possession charges. The sale of cocaine is punishable by up to 15 years in prison with a five-year minimum. Trafficking cocaine in Missouri can land you in prison for up to 30 years. Some offenders will spend the rest of their lives in prison for trafficking.

What to do if you face a cocaine charge in Missouri

Drug charges are some of the most severe and complex offenses to deal with in Missouri. There are a few defense strategies that you can attempt to utilize. Failing that, a plea bargain might be something to consider as well.