Missouri residents charged with DWI need to take those charges seriously. It’s important to know Missouri’s alcohol laws to protect your rights.
What is the minimum age for drinking?
The legal age for consuming alcohol in Missouri is 21. Anyone who is younger than 21 is not permitted to drink alcohol.
Individuals must be at least 21 years old to purchase alcohol. It’s illegal for anyone younger than 21 to buy, possess or drink alcohol in Missouri.
What happens if you sell alcohol to a minor?
Selling alcohol to people under the age of 21 is illegal in Missouri. It’s also illegal to sell alcohol to any person who is intoxicated whether or not they appear so. Individuals who are found violating this law can face penalties including up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $41,000.
What are the public intoxication laws?
It isn’t illegal for people 21 and older to appear intoxicated in public. However, if anyone younger than 21 seems to be intoxicated in public, it can result in an arrest on charges of public intoxication. If a person is convicted of the crime, they can face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
What are the drinking and driving laws?
Anyone who is found to be driving while drunk can face charges of driving while intoxicated if their blood alcohol concentration is .08 or higher. If anyone younger than 21 is found driving with a BAC of .02 or higher, they can also face DWI charges. The state also automatically suspends the driver’s license of drivers under 21 who are guilty of DWI.
DWI charges are serious and life-changing. If you have been arrested, fight back against them.