Missouri residents should be aware of how DUI-related cases are handled on a local level. After all, penalties can vary vastly between states. One state may be more lax, while another could harshly penalize even first-time offenders.
The Missouri Department of Revenue first examines what first-time DUI convictions could look like for an individual. If a person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) level is .04 percent or more, then it will result in two points being added to their driving record. They will also be disallowed from operating commercial vehicles for a period of a year. First-time convictions can result in up to 90 days of license suspension, too. However, in some cases, a person may be allowed Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP). This can be used to get to work, religious activities, or medical appointments.
FindLaw takes a look at multiple DUI convictions. As with many other states, the penalties grow higher as the conviction count does. For example, two or more convictions will land a person in jail for up to 30 days. Once someone gets four or more convictions, the minimum becomes two years. Fines can also get pricey, with even first-time offenders potentially having to pay $500 in fines.
In addition, people have to worry about license suspension and other penalties like ignition interlocking devices. Penalties can also vary depending on the severity of the charges faced. For example, some DUI-related charges are classified as Class B misdemeanors. Other charges can be considered felonies. The great difference in actions contributes to the great difference in penalties, but all DUI-related convictions will have heavy consequences.
For personalized legal guidance, call our office at 417-882-9300 or submit this form to schedule a meeting with an attorney.