Residents in Missouri who are accused of DUI-related crimes have a lot on the line if they’re convicted. The DUI laws in Missouri do not allow much room for mistake, and if you find yourself up against a charge, you could also find yourself looking at some strict sentencing.
Findlaw takes a look at Missouri’s state laws for driving while intoxicated. As is the case in most other states, .08 is the blood alcohol content (BAC) level in which you’re considered legally unsafe to be on the roads. However, you should also note that there’s an enhanced penalty if you have a BAC level of .15 percent or higher. Finally, the state’s zero tolerance law means that anyone caught with a BAC level of .02 or lower if they are under 21 will immediately face penalties.
A first time DUI offense is considered a class B misdemeanor. Criminal penalties associated with DUI charges include jail time, the length of which depends on the class of misdemeanor and how many prior convictions you have. For example, you’ll need to serve a minimum of 10 days in jail if you have one prior conviction. This raises to 30 days if you’ve had two previous convictions. Alcohol treatment programs are also sometimes available in exchange for a suspended sentence. The successful completion of this program will determine whether or not you must face the sentencing.
If you have been accused of committing a DUI-related crime, consider seeking out an experienced DUI attorney for guidance moving forward. Their expertise could be a necessary component in your defense.
For personalized legal guidance, call our office at 417-882-9300 or submit this form to schedule a meeting with an attorney.