What you need to know about Missouri’s marijuana laws

August 4, 2022
What you need to know about Missouri’s marijuana laws

At the Law Offices of Dee Wampler & Joseph Passanise, we think you should know that Missouri has some of the toughest marijuana laws in the country. Despite the facts that 61 percent of Americans believe that marijuana should be legalized in one form or another and Missourians will have the opportunity to vote for medical marijuana legalization in November, any kind of a marijuana conviction could land you in prison from one year to life.

As FindLaw explains, while you may receive probation or a reduced sentence for a first possession conviction, you could go to jail for possessing as little as one gram of marijuana, which translates into one joint. You also could face a $1,000 fine. Possession of less than 35 grams is a Class A misdemeanor. If convicted of possessing any amount over 35 grams, this is a Class C felony for which you likely will spend at least one year in jail and pay a $5,000 fine.


All marijuana sale crimes constitute felonies in Missouri, broken into the following three categories:

  1. Class C felony: maximum seven years’ incarceration and $5,000 fine if convicted of selling less than five grams
  2. Class B felony: minimum five years in prison and up to 15 years plus a $20,000 fine if convicted of selling between five grams and 30 kilograms or of selling to a minor 17 years old or younger
  3. Class A felony: minimum 10 years and up to life in prison for selling marijuana within 2,000 feet of a school or public housing


All marijuana trafficking crimes likewise represent felonies in Missouri. A first-degree trafficking charge means one of two things, both of which are Class A felonies. If convicted of attempting to deliver 30-100 kilograms of marijuana, you will spend a minimum of 10 years in prison and have to pay a $20,000 fine. If convicted of attempting to deliver over 100 kilograms of marijuana, you must serve your entire sentence without the possibility of parole.

A second-degree trafficking charge likewise means one of two things. If convicted of buying or attempting to buy 30-100 kilograms of marijuana, this is a Class B felony for which you will spend 5-15 years in prison. If convicted of buying or attempting to buy over 100 kilograms, or if convicted of possessing more than 500 marijuana plants, this is a Class A felony for which you will spend 10 years to life in prison.

For more information, please visit this page of our website. 


For personalized legal guidance, call our office at 417-882-9300 or submit this form to schedule a meeting with an attorney.

    How would you like to be contacted?

    Check all that apply

    Quiz question:8 + 14 =? - please fill the result in the input field below

    Map & Directions